Return to London

I’ll be the first to admit that I was a little apprehensive about moving back to London to start my second year of university. The comforts of home are hard to leave, especially when you’ve been enjoying them for almost four months. I didn’t expect to be renting out a little room in a flat in Tower Bridge – my original plans were to share a house with friends, but my semester in New Zealand next year would have caused to much problems with that. But my room is light and airy – a welcome change from the blue floors and bright yellow walls of last year’s student accommodation – and the location I’m in is amazing. Over the last couple of days, I’ve had a chance to explore some of the local sights, and any apprehension about living here has dissipated. London is amazing.

 

I invited some of my family up to visit me and see my new place today, and we had a really good time exploring the local area. I’ve pretty much fallen in love with the exhibition at The Tower of London remembering the fallen soldiers from the war. They’re in the process of “planting” 888,246 hand made ceramic poppies in the moat, each commemorating a British fatality. After the installation ends in November, each of the poppies will be sold for £25 each, and all of the proceeds will be split equally amongst six different charities helping soldiers and their families. By my calculations, they’ll raise over £22 million in doing so, which is incredible. The poppies at the Tower of LondonI also had the opportunity to visit the Museum of Natural History for the first time, something I’ve been wanting to do for a while now. I was really looking forward to seeing the dinosaur exhibition, but unfortunately it was incredibly busy… Which is the problem with visiting on a Sunday during the school holidays. But it won’t be difficult for me to visit again on a quieter day. I did get to go into their current butterfly exhibition, which is a temporary greenhouse filled with hundreds of butterflies of different species. They didn’t appear to be afraid of us humans at all, and often flew straight past my head or even landed on other people. I managed to get a photo of a really beautiful looking one.

Butterfly @ Museum of Natural HistoryI suppose it’s just easy to forget how amazing it is to be so close to so many interesting places.

Leave a Reply

